Best answer: How many levels of government does Belgium have?

Legislative powers in Belgium are divided between the national, the regional and the community levels. The Belgian Federal Parliament consists of the Senate (Dutch: Senaat, French: Sénat) and the Chamber of Representatives (Dutch: Kamer van Volksvertegenwoordigers, French: Chambre des Représentants).

How many levels of government are there in Belgium?

Belgium has three tiers of SNGs: 6 federated states, including 3 regional governments (Flanders, Wallonia and the Brussels capital-region) and 3 community governments (Flemish, German, and French Speaking Communities) which overlap territorially; 10 provinces; and 589 municipalities which are governed by regional …

What are the three types of government in Belgium?

The European country of Belgium has a government that is classified as a federal, parliamentary, constitutional monarchy and representative democracy….

How many types of government are there in Belgium Class 10?

The government is a coalition of The Flemish Party, The Liberals, and Democrat Christian Party. That’s why the Belgium government has three levels: Federal.

IT IS AMAZING:  Your question: Why is Dutch a name?

Are there 3 Community governments in Belgium?

The three communities are German, Dutch and French speaking people. This is the reason why the state structure of Belgium is so complex. … The community Government has the power related to educational, cultural and linguistic issues of the people of their people.

Is Belgium a monarchy?

Belgium is a “hereditary parliamentary constitutional monarchy”. … Hereditary: King Philippe succeeded his father, King Albert II.

Is Belgium a federal state?

As a result, the first Article of the Belgian constitution reads today: ‘Belgium is a federal state, composed of communities and regions’. The power to make decisions is no longer the exclusive preserve of the federal government and the federal parliament.

What are the four types of government in Belgium?


  • Federal government.
  • Flemish government.
  • Government of the French Community.
  • Government of the German-speaking Community.
  • Walloon Government.
  • Government of the Brussels-Capital Region. 6.1 Composition 2019-
  • See also.
  • External links.

What are the three levels of government class 10?

Complete answer:

There are three distinct levels of government in the U.S.: the federal government, state governments and local governments.

Which of the government has two or more levels of government?

Federalism is a political structure in which power is distributed between a central authority and the country’s different constituent units. A federation has two levels of government.

Which type of government does Belgium have Class 10 Brainly?

Officially Belgium is a federal state with a parliamentary constitutional monarchy.

What is special about Belgium government?

The Belgium citizens elect the community government in Belgium. This ‘community government’ is elected by people belonging to one language community – Dutch, French and German-speaking – no matter where they live. This government has the power regarding cultural, educational and language-related issues.

IT IS AMAZING:  Why did New Netherland fall to the English with little difficulty?

Why is Belgium divided?

Ultimately, the state of Belgium, composed of provinces of both French-speaking and Dutch-speaking people, gained independence as a buffer state between France and the Netherlands. … Since independence, socio-economic imbalances have fueled resentment between the two communities.

Why is Belgium divided into 3 regions?

Through constitutional reforms in the 1970s and 1980s, regionalisation of the unitary state led to a three-tiered federation: federal, regional, and community governments were created, a compromise designed to minimize linguistic, cultural, social, and economic tensions.

Is Antwerp Flemish or Walloon?

Provinces of Belgium

Provinces of Belgium Provincies van België (Dutch) Provinces de Belgique (French) Provinzen Belgiens (German)
Antwerp East Flanders Flemish Brabant Hainaut Liège Limburg Luxembourg Namur Walloon Brabant West Flanders Flanders Wallonia Brussels
Category Decentralised unit in a federal state